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This Labor Day, Remember: Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over 
 

  Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety Shows Zero Tolerance In Its Goal To End Drunk Driving 
 

Over the Labor Day weekend, families and friends will be celebrating the end of the summer. Sadly, this 
festive time has also become a dangerous time for America’s roads, as many drunk drivers get behind the 
wheel after celebrating. For this reason, the Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety is partnering with the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to stop drunk drivers and help save lives. The high-
visibility national enforcement campaign, Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over, runs August 19-September 5, 
2016. During this period, local law enforcement will show zero tolerance for drunk driving. Increased 
national messaging about the dangers of driving drunk, coupled with sobriety checkpoints and increased 
officers working DUI Saturation Patrols on the road, aim to drastically reduce drunk driving on our 
nation’s roads. 
 
The Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety will deploy a DUI/Drivers License checkpoint to stop and 
arrest alcohol and drug impaired drivers during the end of summer 18 day DUI campaign.  The 
DUI/Drivers License checkpoint is scheduled to take place on 8/19/16. Police, Sheriff and the California 
Highway Patrol will be out looking for the tale-tell signs of drunk driving in order to stop and arrest 
impaired drivers throughout the region. 
 
According to NHSTA, on average, over 10,000 people died each year (2010 to 2014) in drunk-driving 
crashes nationwide while California recorded 882 deaths. During the 2014 Labor Day holiday weekend (6 
p.m. August 29 – 5:59 a.m. September 2), 40 percent of the fatalities in traffic crashes involved drunk 
drivers, which was the highest percentage over the five years 2010 to 2014. And nighttime proves to be 
the most dangerous time to be out on the roads: During the 2014 Labor Day holiday period, 83 percent of 
drunk-driving crash fatalities occurred between 6 p.m. and 5:59 a.m. – as compared to half of all drunk-
driving crash fatalities throughout the rest of that year.  
 
Additionally, 40 percent of crash fatalities on Labor Day weekend in 2014 involved drunk drivers (with 
blood alcohol concentrations [BACs] of .08 or higher), amounting to 162 lives lost nationwide and 20 in 
California. And we’re not just talking about a little bit of alcohol, either. More than a quarter (28%) of the 
crash fatalities that occurred on Labor Day weekend involved drivers with BACs of .15 or higher—almost 
twice the illegal limit. 
 
“People need to understand that drunk driving is not only deadly, but it is illegal,” said Captain Jeffrey 
Plecque. “Drunk driving is a massive problem in the United States, with more than 10,000 people dying 



  

annually. Drivers need to pay attention to their own driving, but also to others on the road who could be 
driving drunk,” he added. “It is your business. If you think you see a drunk driver, report them – call 
911.”  
 
 
The reality is that people aren’t invincible. Of the 9,967 people who were killed in impaired-driving 
crashes in 2014, 64 percent were the drunk drivers themselves. Those 6,391 drunk drivers thought they 
would make it to their destinations, but they didn’t.  
 
“This is important to remember: do not trust yourself when you drink,” said Lieutenant Ryan Yin, “You 
may think you aren’t drunk, but law enforcement will know you are. Law enforcement officers’ skills in 
detecting and identifying drunk drivers have never been better. They will spot you and arrest you.” 
 
Your PD reminders everyone: 

• Plan a safe way home before the fun begins.  
• Before drinking, designate a sober driver.  
• Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile app for 

Android or iPhone.  The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that feature free 
incentives for the designated sober driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to free appetizers and 
more.  The feature-packed app even has social media tie-ins and even a tab for the non-DD to call 
Uber, Lyft or Curb. 

• DRUGS, MEDICATION & ALCOHOL = CRASHES:  Recent statistics reveal that 30 percent of 
drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed 
more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 
percent).  Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol.  

• Stoned driving = impaired driving.  There is a twofold increase in the risk of an accident if there is 
any measurable amount of THC in the bloodstream. 

• If you know someone who is about to drive or ride while impaired, take your friend’s keys and 
help your friend make other arrangements to get to where he or she is going safely 

 
As the summer winds to an end, remember that there’s no excuse for drunk or impaired driving.  Drive 
Sober or Get Pulled Over. 
 
Funding for the extra DUI enforcement operations is a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, 
through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.   
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