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BUCKLE UP DAY AND NIGHT 

Seat belt ticket increases to $142 

 

SUNNYVALE, Calif. – If you’re planning to hit the road for a late spring or early summer 

getaway, be sure that everyone in the car wears their seat belt on every trip, day and 

night. Law enforcement throughout the state, including the Sunnyvale Department of 

Public Safety will be looking for unbelted drivers and passengers as part of the 2010 

Click It or Ticket mobilization, May 24 – June 6. This year, fines and fees have 

increased from $132 to $142 for first-time adult seat belt violations. For children under 

16, the fine is now $445 for a first-time offense.  

“Keep your friends and family safe by buckling up no matter where you’re going,” said 

Chief Don Johnson. “We will be looking for motorists throughout the area who are not 

buckling up, day and night. It’s not just about avoiding a ticket; it’s about keeping the 

ones you care about alive.” 

Seat belt violators will receive citations – no warnings. The Click It or Ticket campaign 

relies on heavy enforcement and public education as a means to help save lives on 

California’s roadways.  

“Wearing a seat belt is just simply the easiest and most effective thing you can do on 

the road to protect yourself and your family,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the 

California Office of Traffic Safety. “That means buckling up day and night, on every trip.” 
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More than 600 permanent Click It or Ticket highway signs, which have been up since 

2005, will be updated to reflect the new ‘Minimum $142’ in the coming months. 

Currently California has a seat belt usage rate of 95.3 percent, but that still means more 

than half a million people are not buckling up. Properly restrained drivers, passengers 

and children have a 50 percent better chance of surviving a crash than unbelted 

occupants. Those ejected from vehicles in crashes or roll-overs are up to 35 times more 

likely to die than restrained occupants. 

More than 150 local law enforcement agencies statewide and the CHP will be 

participating in this year’s Click It or Ticket mobilization. Funding to support California’s 

Click It or Ticket campaign was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic 

Safety through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
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