• Email
  • Print

Other Public Safety Services

Find fees for specific services on the City's Master Fee Schedule.

For details on City laws, view the Municipal Code.

Bicycle Registry

The Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety has partnered with Bike Index to offer online bicycle registration.

Use this free service to do the following:

  • Register your bike
  • Transfer ownership
  • List your bicycle as stolen
  • Print out your bike registration
  • Look up a used bike by serial number or description before you buy it

Register your bike at Bike Index

Clearance Letters

You can obtain a clearance letter for visa or immigration purposes from the Department of Public Safety. The letter indicates whether a person has a criminal record in Sunnyvale.

  • Cost: $35
  • Valid identification required
Fingerprinting

The Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety does not provide fingerprint services to the public.

Find locations where Live Scan fingerprinting services are offered

Fire Station Tours

The Department of Public Safety provides school, civic and neighborhood groups within Sunnyvale tours at each of its fire stations, except Station 2. School participants must be in second grade or higher.

Tours generally last about 45 minutes and include a behind-the-scenes look at:

  • Firefighters' living quarters: office, kitchen and study areas
  • Fire engines and equipment
  • A mock "ring down": Firefighters coordinate with the dispatch center so those in the tour can see and hear what it's like when an emergency call comes in.

To book a tour, call 408-730-7140.

Offender Registration

Individuals convicted of certain crimes must register with their local law enforcement agency. If you are a resident of Sunnyvale and have been ordered to register as an Offender under the authority of:

  • Arson Offender - 457.1 California Penal Code
  • Gang Member - 186.30 California Penal Code
  • Narcotic Offender - 11590 California Health and Safety Code
  • Sexual Offense -290 California Penal Code

You must come to the Sunnyvale Department of Public Safety to comply with this requirement. Hours of operation for this service are daily, from 9:00 pm to 3:30 pm the following day. Registrants must bring a photo ID.

Outstanding Warrant Information

If you believe you have a warrant for your arrest, you must respond in person to the department to discuss options. Minimal information will be provided to you by telephone.

Property Release

The Sunnyvale Property and Evidence Unit stores evidence until it's required by the courts, or until it can be released per department policy. To retrieve your property:

  • You must make an appointment by calling 408-730-7107.
  • You must present a valid photo ID.

Read Law Enforcement Gun Release Requirements

Request Crime or Accident Reports

Police or Fire Reports

To request a police or fire report, submit an Application for Record Information. The California Public Records Act allows up to 10 days for a response.

  • You may submit Applications for Release of Information in person, by mail or by fax to 408-730-7705.

Application for Release of Information

Traffic Accident Reports

To obtain a copy of a traffic accident report, you may either visit the Department of Public Safety Headquarters or request your report online. Traffic reports may only be released to those as specified per 20012 VC.

Request a traffic accident report

Request a Speaker

Neighborhood Resource Officers provide safety and awareness presentations to schools, businesses, neighborhood associations and community groups by appointment.

Request a Speaker
Request Traffic Enforcement

Let us know about a chronic traffic-related problem in your area, such as speeding or school zone violations.

Request Traffic Enforcement
Ride-Along With an Officer

To apply for a ride-along with a Public Safety officer, email Lt. Anthony Tani or call 408-730-7164.

Safe Surrender

Under the Safely Surrendered Baby Law, a parent or person with lawful custody can safely surrender a baby confidentially, and without fear of prosecution, within 72 hours of birth, at any of our fire stations.

Safely Surrendered Baby Law

Towing and Vehicle Releases

Owners of towed, stored or impounded vehicles must come to Public Safety Headquarters to request a release.

If you believe your car has been unlawfully towed, you may call or come to Public Safety Headquarters to request a tow hearing.

Traffic Citation Sign Off

Some license, equipment or registration violations can be dismissed after showing an officer that you have corrected the violation. (40303.5.VC).

  • Cost: $25.50 for nonresidents and residents whose ticket was not issued by Public Safety. There is no fee for residents whose ticket was issued by Public Safety.
  • Hours for this service: Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., and Saturday from noon to 3:30 p.m.

Note: Law enforcement cannot sign off on proof of insurance.

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2020
Top