• Email
  • Print

News Details

City Honors Community Members

Mayor Larry Klein and the City Council presented the 2019 Sunnyvale Community Awards in a ceremony at the State of the City celebration. The event took place Sept. 14 in downtown Sunnyvale.

The Community Awards recognize the dedication and hard work of community members across a variety of fields who have made a difference in Sunnyvale.

This year’s awardees are:

  • Contribution to the Arts – Lawrence E. Stone (Santa Clara County Assessor)
  • Educator of the Year – Mary Grace Votran (Columbia Middle School)
  • High School Students of the Year – Kaushik Tota (Saint Francis High School) and Zara Vakath (The Harker School)
  • Environmental Achievement – Mark Bowers (City of Sunnyvale)
  • Business of the Year – Ray Piontek (Bay Area Furniture Bank)
  • Distinguished Resident of the Year – Dr. Benjamin H. Picard (Superintendent, Sunnyvale School District)
  • Mayor’s Award of Excellence – Animal Assisted Happiness

Group photo of all community award winners with Mayor and Councilmembers


Nominations are now open year round and we are accepting award nominations for the 2020 Community Awards. Don't wait to nominate!

September 16, 2019